iRiver Story Review

by Ebook Doctor on December 3, 2009


iriver-story-ebookreader

The iRiver Story is the latest entrant into the Ebook Reader market, and its iRiver’s first ebook reader.

I must admit I was weary when I first heard bout the iRiver Story, as from afar it could be mistaken for a rebadged Amazon Kindle clone. But I’m pleased to say that iRiver have done a good job designing this ebook reader, and they have invested quite a bit in the packaging and marketing material for their ebook reader.

This is no Amazon Kindle though, the build quality although ok and it doesn’t have the solid feel of a Kindle. But the device doesn’t feel cheap, its quite attractive and the keyboard actually works quite well.

iriver-story-side

The screen is your typical Vizplex E-Ink screen, featuring 8 levels of greyscale (same as the Sony Touch & Pocket / Bebook) with a resolution of 800×600. The Kindle features a better 16 greyscale screen, but both offer a really good reading experience.

The user interface is intuitive, you can use the keypad to navigate through the menus and there are side buttons available so that you can use the book in one hand for both left and right handed users.

Unlike the Amazon Kindle which limits the ebook formats to their own amazon.com and pdf ebook formats, the iRiver Story is compatible with a wide range of ebook formats including: EPUB, PDF & TXT cover the main formats for commercial ebooks, while the Story also displays office files like DOC, PPT & XLS.  For comics & graphic novels, JPEG, BMP and GIF image. This makes this ideal for reading business documents on the road without having to carry a laptop.

iriver-story-book

Page turns are snappy (for ebook reader standards) and you’ll find the ebook reader comfortable to read all sorts of books on your journeys.

The device comes with a generous 2GB of internal storage, enough to store hundreds of books, and it can be expanded with an external SD card.

We also like the added features which are not available on other ebook readers as yet including the diary, memo facility, the built in speaker and the voice recorder which are all handy but will probably never be used…

At £229 the iRiver ebook reader is on par with most 6″ ebook readers in the UK, but is more expensive than the Amazon Kindle.

In all the iRiver is a good device, especially if you are interested in being able to upload any ebook format, or your own documents which is not currently possible on the Kindle.

You can find out more about the iRiver Story here


{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Mario Ramos 12.29.09 at 2:36 am

hi!

I was just wandering how good is the PDF support on the Iriver Story? I am thinking about buying it because of all my school books which are heavy 3D imaging books which are normally 300-500 pages big and every book comes with a CD rom which has a PDF version of the book… So I want to safe space and time by just buying a good looking ebook reader, good enough to handle PDFs which are heavy on the images…

Thanks a lot and Ill keep reading!

2 Glen Cross 01.28.10 at 7:48 am

The thing I’m looking for in an e-reader is that I can read newspapers, blogs and things like that on it (and I don’t think I’m alone in that). All these readers you seem to be reviewing seem much smaller than I’d need for reading these kind of publications or big PDFs etc. If you wrote an article on bigger screen readers I’d be interested in what you recommend.

3 Does it zoom or reflow PDFs? 02.09.10 at 8:06 pm

Hi,

I’d like to know if this reader can zoom PDF documents or enlarge the font size and reflow the text. I’m very interesting on it, but don’t want to read a whole page of my PDFs in such a little screen.

Thanks

4 Tony Townsend 04.02.10 at 3:39 am

Had this reader for a short time and the screen developed a fault, where only half the screen would show writing. I sent it to Singapore’s McCoy Pte Ltd for repair as it was still under warranty and they replied a week later saying that the vendor said it was a customer developed fault and I would have to pay $200 and wait for 8 weeks for repairs or buy a new one from them for $300.
What a disappointment!! To my knowledge there is no way that I could have damaged the screen.
I replied to McCoy saying that I would not throw good money after bad.
Maybe, you can learn from my experience with iRiver Story. If it goes faulty, the chances are they will say it is a customer related fault, even though you registered the unit.

5 Graham 07.15.10 at 9:44 am

Who wrote this ullage? When you say you were “weary” when you first heard the iRiver story, instead I guess you meant you were wary, unless of course you were tired from having had to write so much drivel!!

6 Alan 10.12.10 at 11:48 am

Was given a iRiver Cover Story as a birthday present recently and all I can say thus far is that how did I manage without it before.

7 Amethyst 10.20.10 at 3:52 pm

Looks pretty neat, I don’t know anyone that has this but would love to check it out.

8 John 11.24.10 at 4:19 pm

I have had problems in the past marrying some electronic devices to an iMac computer. Had anyone got this eReader working on an apple machine

9 paul 12.30.10 at 1:58 pm

I was given an i river cover story e reader for christmas, i could not get it to link with my pc. on contacting waterstones i was informed it is not compatable with windows 7 64 bit operating system.

10 paul 12.30.10 at 2:34 pm

i river cover story is not compatible with windows7 64 bit operating system, found out after many wasted hours by phoning waterstones help line. however i was not told of this problem at the point of sale, you are ok if you have windows7 32 bit operating system.

11 Gill 02.18.11 at 10:18 pm

Found this extremely difficult to use. Couldnt open any of the books although you could open on the computer when the device was attached. Brought in friend who is expert and he agreed couldnt see what I was doing wrong. Have set up other ereaders before but this is going back to Costco…

12 David Boag 03.17.11 at 7:02 am

You can download kindle for pc, free from Amazon, I use it on ny netbook, has nice look, just like a kindle screen

13 Don 04.18.11 at 8:04 am

It’s not true to say you can purchase the Kindle only from Amazon: I bought mine from PC World. My only gripe is that the spoken word option is pathetic; on the occasions that I tried to use it, the readers sounded like automatons with no feeling for what they were reading at all. Also, I would prefer an English reader when reading books by Brit authors.

14 Boris 07.28.11 at 6:14 am

It connects to my Windows 7/64 PC fine. I drag and drop stuff all the time.
There are no page markers, which is a pain, and like most ereaders whilst reading epub format is a real pleasure, scanned pdfs are rendered tiny and a real pain.
As far as 6 inch ereaders go I have no regrets about buying it 2nd hand but I have now discovered a need for a unit which can read scanned pdfs at A4 and not shrink them.

15 Gj 09.20.11 at 10:44 am

I just got myself an iRiver Story and I loved it, until the screen stopped working 😛 I found the bottom of the machine was opened, maybe due to a bump, twisted, or something. But It was always in its protective casing and next to my laptop, which means I treated it carefully.
I live and work in Africa, its going to be a nightmare and expensive to get this fixed. I loved it, but why do these guys make it so easy to break???
Never buy cheap I guess…

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>